Tuwai wins World Rugby Men’s 7s Player of the Year award

Jerry Tuwai after receiving the World Rugby Men’s 7s Player of the Year award [Photo:WorldRugbySevens]

Jerry Tuwai won the World Rugby Men’s 7s Player of the Year Award at the 2019 World Rugby Awards ceremony last night.

The Fiji Airways Men’s National 7s team playmaker is the second Fiji 7s player to win the award.

For the past two years, Tuwai had lost to USA’s Perry Baker.

Tuwai scored 24 tries last season as Fiji won the HSBC World 7s Series.

He dedicated the award to his family, his fellow players and fans across the country.

Tuwai was nominated alongside USA duo Stephen Tomasin and Folau Niua.

Samisoni Viriviri was the first Fiji 7s player to receive the award.

The Springboks who are the Rugby World Cup champions received the World Rugby Team of the Year Award.

South Africa’s coach Rassie Erasmus is the World Rugby Coach of the Year.

Springboks flanker, Pieter-Steph Du Toit is the World Rugby Men’s 15s Player of the Year.

All Blacks halfback TJ Perenara picked up the International Rugby Players Try of the Year Award for his incredible score against Namibia at the Rugby World Cup.

Wayne Barnes was awarded the World Rugby Referee of the Year Award.

Legendary All Blacks Captain Richie McCaw and Coach Graham Henry were also inducted in the World Rugby Hall of Fame.

New Zealand’s Ruby Tui was named Women’s 7s Player of the Year.

  • Suva
    light intensity shower rain
    humidity: 88%
    wind: 2m/s SSW
    H 24 • L 23
  • Currency Convertor

  • Translate Page »