The South Pacific Tourism Organisation welcomes Tokelau into the SPTO Family

The South Pacific Tourism Organisation welcomes Tokelau as its 20th Pacific Island  member country and looks forward to working with the Tokelauan Government in sustainably developing and promoting the country as a destination, said SPTO Chief Executive Officer, Chris Cocker.

“Tokelau’s membership was endorsed by the SPTO Council of Tourism Ministers in Apia, Samoa, last year.  This month, we were formally advised that the decision to join SPTO Family was endorsed by the Tokelau National Parliament last month,” said Mr., Cocker.

Tokelau is located between New Zealand and Hawaii and accessed by sea via Samoa, as there is no airport, “Our isolation is our main constraint. Our nearest neighbor is Samoa about 500 kilometres to the south of Tokelau. Sometimes tourists discover the existence of Tokelau when they visit Samoa” said Mr. Mika Perez, Director of the Tokelau Department of Economic Development, Natural Resources and Environment.

“Tourism is on an ad-hoc basis, and we are looking at building our capacity in the sector in partnership with SPTO. We want to provide an alternative source of livelihood for our people as we have so much to offer.  Our three main islands are situated in pristine environments, with vast flora and fauna and we have a unique culture and potential for tourism.” said Mr. Perez.

Mr. Perez is confident that Tokelau will contribute to the region’s tourism sector in the coming years. Mr. Cocker agreed with Mr. Perez, “The Pacific competes destinations in the Caribbean, the Indian Ocean and South East Asia who all offer unique environments. Our diverse Culture and the unique experiences in our twenty Pacific Island member countries are our competitive advantage and Tokelau’s uniqueness as an “off-the-beaten track destination” has much to offer visitors. We look forward to working with the Tokelau Government and people.”


About SPTO

Established in 1983 as the Tourism Council of the South Pacific, the South Pacific Tourism Organisation (SPTO) is the mandated organisation representing Tourism in the region. Its 20 Government members are American Samoa, Cook Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Fiji, French Polynesia, Kiribati, Nauru, Marshall Islands, New Caledonia, Niue, Papua New Guinea, Rapa Nui Samoa, Solomon Islands, Timor Leste, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu Wallis & Futuna and the People’s Republic of China. In addition to government members, the South Pacific Tourism Organisation enlists a private sector membership base.

(Source: SPTO Press Release 15 August 2019)


For more information, contact:
Alisi Lutu, Marketing Manager
South Pacific Tourism Organisation (SPTO)
Email: or +679 3304177


Media and Communications Team
South Pacific Tourism Organisation (SPTO)
Email: or +679 3304177


  • Currency Convertor

  • Translate Page »