You may have read about recent international developments on COVID-19. The USA closed its borders to Europe; Australia advised that all arriving travellers must self-quarantine for 14 days and New Zealand advised that all arriving travellers must self-quarantine for 14 days (except those arriving from a list of Pacific Island countries). New border restrictions imposed by the Cook Islands Government and most of our key source market countries, will effectively mean that until the virus is more contained, there will be no visitors to the Cook Islands other than those from NZ.

The Cook Islands Government has issued new border restrictions effective immediately;

  • Anyone intending to enter Rarotonga from any country with the exception of New Zealand is required to self-quarantine in New Zealand for 14-days
  • Non-stop flight services from Papeete, Los Angeles and Sydney are postponed until 18 April 2020, from which time there will be weekly reviews. The Sydney/Rarotonga and Los Angeles/Rarotonga flights will operate for one last time this week departing from Rarotonga. There will be no more incoming passengers coming directly from those countries until the flights are reinstated.
  • A temporary ban on all cruise ships, pleasure crafts and yachts entering the Cook Islands waters is effective immediately until 30 June 2020. Review will be done weekly.

Please click below for the full media release on the border restrictions and social distancing measures from the Office of the Prime Minister.

  • Currency Convertor

  • Translate Page »